This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Jan 31, 2013 10:37 AM by 987862 RSS

Difficulty installing ODAC 64 bit / ODP.net for Visual Studio 2012

987862 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am a new and novice user so please excuse any errors and omissions.
Environment:
- Have a Oracle 11g 64 bit server installed on local machine running Windows 8 and Visual 2012 Pro.
- The server is running OK. Am able to connect to it with SQL Plus.
Problem:
- Downloaded the ODAC 64 bit zip and executed install.bat. Nothing seems to happen after running the install file.
- Tried to go through the Oracle Universal Installer but had no luck. It asked for the source location - and tried pointing it to the directory where I extracted the OASC1120320Xcopy_x64 but no luck.
- Tried to connect to the DB in VS server explorer but the only driver available is for 7.3,..., 10g and is deprecated. Tried connecting using this and got the message saying that it got BadImageFormatException and the problem occurs when running in 64bit mode with 32 bit client components. So, out of ideas.
Objective:
- Ideal would be to have the ODAC installed, be able to look at the DB in Server Explorer and enjoy the full functionality.
- Minimal would be to able to add Oracle.DataAccess.dll as reference and do without the server explorer. I did see that in my Oracle Install folder I have dbhome_1/OPT.Net/bin folder. In it, there is only once subfolder - 2.x which does have the Oracle.DataAccess.dll. I am guessing that this is not the right one to reference and it is the one Server Explorer is using...

That's where I am. Could really use any help and advice.

PS: I did notice that VS 2012 is a 32 bit app. Do not know if it informs your answer. Thanks a lot!

Edited by: 984859 on Jan 29, 2013 10:14 AM
  • 1. Re: Difficulty installing ODAC 64 bit / ODP.net for Visual Studio 2012
    Christian.Shay - Oracle Pro
    Windows 8 is not yet supported with any Oracle products including ODAC.