7 Replies Latest reply: Feb 1, 2013 12:37 PM by 937454 RSS

database bussiness flow.

HI , I am a wannabe DBA. I never had a chance to speak to anyone who is working as a DBA. I just want to know
      1.what the daily activities of a DBA are.
      2.How many databases does a project require?
      3.On how many pieces of hardware is a database spread/installed?
      4.who is an onsite DBA.
      5.what does a dba interact with the developers and testers.
      6.what are the different database environments ( i just know two Production, Testing)?
      7. Difference between a development DBA and a production DBA.
      Thanks a lot.

Edited by: kantamani on Jan 31, 2013 9:06 PM

Edited by: kantamani on Jan 31, 2013 9:14 PM
        • 1. Re: database bussiness flow.
          sb92075
          kantamani wrote:
          HI , I am a wannabe DBA.
          So you decided you want to be a DBA, but you have no idea what they actually do.
          At least we know that you know 3 out of the first 4 letters of the alphabet.

Can you spell SQL?
          • 2. Re: database bussiness flow.
            hi sb92075,
            i learned sql and plsql, i did my certifications. Had been studying Oracle Architecture for a while. I am just a fresher looking for a job more interested in being a DBA rather than a plsql developer. so i would be glad
            if you could help rather being sarcastic . Thanks for your prompt replay.
            • 3. Re: database bussiness flow.
              Billy~Verreynne
              Very open ended questions.
              1.what the daily activities of a DBA are.
              Depends from site to site and what the roles and responsibilities are. Regular daily activities should be close to zero as that means proper management, monitoring and notification tools and mechanisms are in place.
              2.How many databases does a project require?
              Physical or logical?