This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Feb 7, 2013 12:20 AM by Benoît RSS

Single agent vs. multiple agents to export/deliver the bi analysis report

user555994 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello BI Guru's/Expert,

I am new to bi and have couple of queries -
Have specific requirement where we have 200+ reports and want to export the reports to certain location as on need basis so to have a solution for the same -

1- Do we need to create 200+ agents (one for every single report) and then another agent (parent) on top of 200+ agents so that we run the parent agent and it will deliver the reports?
Or within a single agent can we mention the set of reports which need to be delivered?

2- Can we export the analysis output in particular format (say pdf/excel) to certain network drive location? Or is it possible to deliver the output in the form of mail only?

3- Is there any other way provided within BI to accomplish this?

Thanks in advance for your time and effort.......
  • 1. Re: Single agent vs. multiple agents to export/deliver the bi analysis report
    Benoît Journeyer
    Hi,

As you select the name of the report or dashboard page in the delivery module, you must create 200+ agent (I don't think you could configure only one agent) and you schedule it at your convenience - so you don't create an agent (parent).

In each agent, you can export the result as Excel, PDF, MHTML and I you want to save the result on the network, you must add a script (Javascript, Java) in your agent. You could find some example on the net.

With OBIEE, maybe you can use the OBIEE API but I think that Deliver is the best tool on OBIEE for your requirements.

Regards,

Benoit
  • 2. Re: Single agent vs. multiple agents to export/deliver the bi analysis report
    user555994 Newbie
    Hello Benoît,

Thanks for reply and input.