1 2 Previous Next 26 Replies Latest reply: Feb 13, 2013 1:02 AM by yoonas RSS

Oracle 11gR2 on SLES 11

yxes2013
      Hi All,

This is my first time to install 11gR2 on Suse and it is so traumatic :(.

Can you help me what version of SLES linux 64bit does Oracle 11gR2 is supported to run?

I have installed SLES but there are lots of missing rpms. I don't even know what version I got.
      The file given to me by the sysadmin is > SLES-11-DVD-x86_64-GM-DVD1, SLES-11-DVD-x86_64-GM-DVD2
      So it must be SLES 11.

Can you help me find a good documentation for installing 11gR2 on SLES?

I have lots of errors like display not set, test xclock, colors not 256. The documentation I got does not validate these..

Do I need to create oinstall group or it is mandatory?

Thanks a lot,

Yxz
        • 1. Re: Oracle 11gR2 on SLES 11
          Osama_Mustafa
          Please post which version of 11gr2 you want to install ? 4 digit

Oracle Database 11.2.0.2.0 is certified on Linux x86 SLES 11
          Oracle Database 11.2.0.2.0 is certified on Linux x86 SLES 10

also for documentation check
          http://bit.ly/11AQ6Zh
          • 2. Re: Oracle 11gR2 on SLES 11
            yxes2013
            Thanks Osama,

Is it possible SLES 11 on laptops? (DELL vostro 1520)

I was able to install it but the nic was not detected, or maybe many others things are not detected?

Thanks
            • 3. Re: Oracle 11gR2 on SLES 11
              yoonas
              Hi,

Try a creating a virtual machine then
              https://www.virtualbox.org/

Regards
              Yoonas
              • 4. Re: Oracle 11gR2 on SLES 11
                yoonas
                You could also have a look at Pre-Built Developer VMs (not on SLES though)

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/community/developer-vm/index.html
                • 5. Re: Oracle 11gR2 on SLES 11
                  yxes2013
                  Thanks,

So, It is not good to install SLES 11 on laptops? But only on VMs? :(