This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply: Oct 24, 2013 10:06 AM by Rucadulu2 RSS

Oracle VM 3.x.x Backup Strategy

990426 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello - I am relatively new to the Oracle VM world, as I do not find the product anywhere near the quality or stability of VMware. I'm being forced to implement it for the Oracle licensing savings, supposedly. Building the servers and manager has not been a problem, outside of the fact that they are not including Xsigo drivers and we were trying to implement on Infiniband. Short story long, I am curious as to what other OVM users are doing for backups. Our daily backup and DR strategy with VMware includes full image snapshots which makes recovery very easy. I know Xen doesn't include snapshot technology. I know you can hot-clone in OVM, but nothing I have found seems to help automate the process from the command line. The CLI shell requires an expect script and from there it gets rather complicated.

We are looking to get the vm.cfg and associates *.img files backed up using an enterprise scheduler. Is anyone else doing something like this? Any and all ideas are helpful.

Oracle published a 'backup' "guide", which basically said, "you're on your own".

Thank you.
  • 1. Re: Oracle VM 3.x.x Backup Strategy
    user12273962 Pro
    Oracle only supports Oracle products on Oracle VM. It is true, that if you try to use VMWare on multi core systems to run Oracle Databases, then you must license every core in the server when it comes to Database cores. Oracle VM allows CPU pinning, that restricts cores from being used and its the only method that allows you you restrict cores for Oracle Databases. Unless, you truly have a hardware partitioned system.