7 Replies Latest reply: Oct 15, 2013 5:07 PM by ThereseS RSS

Multiple column in LOV

Dear community,

I have been struggling with the issue that Apex wont allow me to display more than 1 value/column in a LOV/select-list.

Is there a fix or workaround for that? I have been searching all over the internet, landed on a webpage with jQuery but I have no idea how to execute since I am a beginner at apex.

Situation:

I have a table with students containing columns: studentnumber, name, lastname.
      I want to create a LOV displaying all the 3 columns and return with studentnumber.

what I tried in sql:

select studentnumber, name, lastname as display_value, studentnumber as return_value
      from students
      order by 1

But failed since you can give only 1 value @ display_value ( I gave 3 ).

Thanks!

Edited by: 923187 on 25-mrt-2012 7:53
        • 1. Re: Multiple column in LOV
          Mindmap
          Hi user,

Pls, check this...

http://apex-plugin.com/oracle-apex-plugins/dynamic-action-plugin/skillbuilders-modal-page_138.html
          • 2. Re: Multiple column in LOV
            Thanks so much!

Actually your link did NOT work but it navigated me to a webpage called http://skillbuilders.com/oracle-apex/Application-Express-APEX-Consulting-Training.cfm?tab=plug-ins&click=super_lov.zip

this tool fixed my problem and it works.

IF anyone needs support on this, I will help!

Edited by: 923187 on 25-mrt-2012 8:33
            • 3. Re: Multiple column in LOV
              Hi,

I'm struggling with another LOV issue wanting to display multiple columns and passing those to fields in de detailed part of a master detail form.

Any ideas
              • 4. Re: Multiple column in LOV
                unficyp
                This plugin is very nice indeed, but its defeats the purpose of "dont reinvent the wheel".
                Simply because you cannot use the "shared component" - "list of values" option.