5 Replies Latest reply: Feb 16, 2013 3:35 AM by A. Drieux RSS

ODI - CDC

Hi,

I am new to CDC in ODI. Please help me on this.

Actual Requirement: Integrate the data from 3 different source system and compose a 'Sales Account' record in Fusion.CDC feature of ODI to be used for incremental updates.

Information: The three source systems are loosely coupled. Each source system is either joined or not joined with the other source systems based on the business units under processing.

Mock Example: Lets take a favorite example to better explain the actual requirement.
      EMPLOYEE and DEPARTMENT table.
      The organization has a requirement to migrate EMPLOYEE and DEPARTMENT from the source system and create a flat table combining EMPLOYEE and DEPARTMENT data in the target system. (Lets assume the EMPLOYEE and DEPARTMENT table are maintained in two different source system).
      1. If the Employee is of type 'BOD'(assume it as business unit) then Employee may not have corresponding link in DEPARTMENT table.
      2. If the Employee is not of type 'BOD' then Employee will have corresponding link in DEPARTMENT table.

No Key constraints or referential integrity is maintained.

Please advise me, which CDC to use, Simple or Consistent.

Thanks in advance!!!!
        • 1. Re: ODI - CDC
          A. Drieux
          Hi

I recommand you to use consistant CDC.

In you example, you will have 1 interface that use the EMPLOYEE journal, will left outer join on DEPARTMENT table.
          If there is new/modified records in the table employee, the CDC will capture them and your interface will load these data into your flat table. With or without department, depending on the employee type.

Then, another interface that use the DEPARTMENT journal, joined with employee table.
          If there is new/modified records in the table department, the CDC will capture them and load them into your flat table.