This discussion is archived
2 Replies Latest reply: Feb 15, 2013 11:43 AM by rp0428 RSS

Materialized Views.

934896 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi

I am new to materialized views, and I was trying to read some documentation and it got confusing, I have a requirement to create a materialized view in schema targ on table s in sour schema and I want it to refresh every 20 minutes. I also want a materialized view log?

I need help with what the syntax would be for the materialized view and materialized view log. AND also where would the materialized view log be created(what schema).

Thanks
  • 1. Re: Materialized Views.
    Justin Cave Oracle ACE
    Are these schemas in the same database? You don't mention multiple databases. You wouldn't use a materialized view to replicate data from one schema to another. You might want to aggregate data from a table in one schema in a materialized view in a different schema but that would be pretty odd-- you'd generally want the aggregated data in the same schema that the detail data is in.

Justin
  • 2. Re: Materialized Views.
    rp0428 Guru
    >
    I am new to materialized views, and I was trying to read some documentation and it got confusing, I have a requirement to create a materialized view in schema targ on table s in sour schema and I want it to refresh every 20 minutes. I also want a materialized view log?
    >
    It you want the MV to refresh every 20 minutes you use the START WITH and NEXT clauses
    >
    START WITH Clause

Specify a datetime expression for the first automatic refresh time.

NEXT Clause

Specify a datetime expression for calculating the interval between automatic refreshes.