This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Feb 19, 2013 10:21 PM by 979801 RSS

Exception Handaling problem

979801 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,
I am new in Oracle forms.There is in Java or c#,a try catch block is available to trap any type of exception( occurred in code ) even we do not know the name of exception/error or code of exception.
I want know how we can do the following event in oracle forms as in c# or Java code given below,

int i,j,k;
try
{
i= text_Box1.text; // here text_Box1 is a text item and in this suppose we have entered value 120.
j=text_Box12.text; // here text_Box2 is another text item and in this we entered value=0.
k= i / j; //divide here i and j's values
}
catch
{
messagebox.show("An Exception is occurred,Please Give Proper input "); // to just show a message when any exception is occurred in code in the try block.
}

here when we have value in k is infinite then an exception is raised but here neither we need to give any name-identification of exception nor any conditional statement of raising exception in code.
please help me how can i do above working in oracle forms using pl/sql.
Thank You
  • 1. Re: Exception Handaling problem
    HamidHelal Guru
    Hi,

Check this link
    Handling PL/SQL Errors

Hope this helps

Hamid

Mark correct/helpful to help others to get right answer(s).*
  • 2. Re: Exception Handaling problem
    979801 Newbie
    I know how to do this in pl/sql traditionally .For this firstly i have to write a conditional statement on which a specified exception is occurred.

declare
    e exception ;
    begin
    if -- conditional statement for which i have to raise exception when found then raise it.
    end if
    exception
    end;

to do this i have to sure that what type of exception is possible.But in that case in which we dont make possibilities then how to handle these type of exceptions
  • 3. Re: Exception Handaling problem
    HamidHelal Guru
    976798 wrote: