This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Feb 21, 2013 7:55 AM by TurlochO'Tierney RSS

SQLDeveloper - change proposal

user571349 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello Everyone,

for the past couple of years my colleagues and I have been using SQLDeloper. As a DBA I normally I use TOAD and SQLPlus to perform my work. SQLDeveloper seems a fine tool for my developent teams, however some functions in SQLDeveloper always put me off. The same also applies to TOAD as well. The main problem is running scripts.
When I use SQLPLUS I often use the parameter prompt &1 and &&1, it seems that both SQLDeveloper and TOAD fail to graps that concept, so if I want to run the same script I use in SQLPLUS where I only put my parameter value once, SQLDeveloper will ask me every time the &1 and &&1 is in the script.
Can this be enhanced?

The next subject is security. It so happens regular users are now downloading SQLDeveloper and use it. Because there is no installation required anyone can copy this software and run with their own account having update privileges bypassing the application. I will not mention runnig full scans on large tables, boy, everybody loves those, why doesn't every human being understand what an optimizer is and how to make use of it?
So far there is no way I can force stopping them (although Windows 7 will not allow putting stuff into C:\Program FIles), as I would have to enable a trigger rejecting the SQLDeveloper.exe as a tool, it could be complex, I've tried it, wasted a lot of time. I would have to reject all users or write a complex procedure so Developers could use it, but not users, exceptions, exceptions, etc. I think this is a serious flaw. Oracle should put some effort into this subject. Access to downloading SQLDeveloper should be restricted.