5 Replies Latest reply: Feb 22, 2013 12:43 PM by raykdogs RSS

Insert Row Using Data From Another Unrelated Row

raykdogs
      Jdeveloper 11g.
      I am new to Jdeveloper.
      I have an application that has an adf:table generated from View Object A.
      The application allows a user to press a button and have a popup displayed (using a Task Flow). The popup displays an adf:table generated from View Object B.
      The user is able to select row(s) from the table in the popup and press a button to Save.
      What I need to happen is to use data from the selected rows in the popup to insert rows into ViewObject A.
      There is no relation between View Object A and View Object B. I just need to populate one vo with data from the other.

The problem I am running across is that View Object B is on a different page than View Object A.
      I have a backing bean that runs the return listener with the value from the return params.
      I figured I could simply use the primary key value from the return param, query the row for View Object B and create a new row for View Object A. However, the only way I know how to do this is to use the iterators, but when I try and get the iterators from my backing bean, they are not found.

Remember, I am new to this, so be gentle.
      Thank you.
        • 1. Re: Insert Row Using Data From Another Unrelated Row
          raykdogs
          Further Info!
          I am using the AfterListener in adfc-config to attempt to populate the view object.
          The method that runs cannot find any bindings.
          The following returns null:
          BindingContext bc = BindingContext.getCurrent();
          BindingContainer bindings = bc.getCurrentBindingsEntry();
          if (bindings == null){
           System.out.println("Bindings is null");  // this gets called
          }
          Any help would be appreciated.

Edited by: raykdogs on Feb 22, 2013 6:45 AM

Edited by: raykdogs on Feb 22, 2013 6:47 AM