This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 29 Replies Latest reply: Apr 2, 2013 7:09 AM by Srini Chavali-Oracle Go to original post RSS
  • 15. Re: Migrate 32-bit 10.2.0 to 64-bit 10.2.0
    Srini Chavali-Oracle Oracle ACE Director
    Currently Being Moderated
    becks wrote:
    Shifted the pfile and spfile over.
    Have proceed until part 5. Do not really understand part 5 as i could not find ORACLE_HOME\database\ORACLE_SID \ folder. So i skip it
    You should not skip this step. The init.ora file is the same one you copied over from the source server. I have no experience with Windows, but on Unix the file is located in ORACLE_HOME/dbs directory.
    Step 7: could not find this ORACLE_HOME\rdbms folder also. skip
    Again, you cannot skip this step. If you installed the Oracle software correctly on the target server, there should be an ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/admin directory present.
    I go to step 8 then step 9 throw the following error.
    ORA-12560: TNS:protocol adapter error
    Stilll trying to debug
    Pl see these MOS Docs

Connect As Sysdba On Windows Fails With ORA-12560: TNS:protocol adapter error [ID 989716.1]
    Bequeath Connection Generates ORA-12560: TNS: Protocol Adapter Error [ID 831007.1]
    ORA-12560 errors during Database Server upgrade to 10.2.0.3.0 on Windows [ID 465289.1]
    ORA-12560 for Bequeath connection or client connection on Windows [ID 1524457.1]

HTH
    Srini
  • 16. Re: Migrate 32-bit 10.2.0 to 64-bit 10.2.0
    becks Newbie
    In the destination server, I saw under ORACLE_home/dbs, there 2 files.
    initdw.ora - seem like a readme file as it contains ##
    and spfiledb1.ora - not readable by notepad.
    still lookind for the init.ora files. It mention about add a parameter berfore change word size. But it did not show how we gotta change the word size? any ideas?
  • 17. Re: Migrate 32-bit 10.2.0 to 64-bit 10.2.0