This discussion is archived
1 Reply Latest reply: Feb 27, 2013 7:44 AM by JamesSutherland RSS

How to control TopLink shallow/two-phase inserts?

990765 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello. First, let me say that I am a total newbie here so please poke me if I am violating any rules or customs of these forums.

I am seeking an advice about my issue with TopLink and handling circular references. Here is the thing, I have three tables, let's call them LEFT, MIDDLE and RIGHT. They have bidirectional references to each other, like this:
.....;-------->;......;<--------;
LEFT..........MIDDLE.......RIGHT
.....;<--------;......;-------->;

Obviously, if I wanted to insert new records into all three tables, it would be necessary to use two-phase/shallow insert (inserting NULL FKs and then updating them later) somewhere. The best place to do so is MIDDLE table because then only one two-phase insert is required. But as I understand it, using two-phase inserts on both LEFT and MIDDLE and regular insert on MIDDLE should also work.

Now, the thing is that I never actually need to insert into LEFT and RIGHT, those tables are being populated by other process. What my application is required to do is to insert a new row into MIDDLE and fix references to existing rows from LEFT and RIGHT. Ergo, two-phase insert is NOT needed and correct SQL code that I am trying to achieve would look like this:
INSERT INTO middle (left_id, right_id) VALUES (17, 14)
SELECT DISTINCT(DBINFO('sqlca.sqlerrd1')) FROM systables
UPDATE left SET middle_id = 60 WHERE (id = 17)
UPDATE right SET middle_id = 60 WHERE (id = 14)

But in my case, TopLink still attempts to perform two-phase insert to MIDDLE table because it sees the circular references. And if I set foreign keys in MIDDLE table to "NOT NULL" as required by our database design, the commit fails because it's unable to insert NULL foreign keys.