This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Mar 3, 2013 10:45 PM by safazaurs RSS

Resotring backup from TSM to another server

safazaurs Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello, everybody.
I'm a newbie DBA, but today I got my first assignment. I have to restore database from backup which is on TAPE (TSM). I don't have any clue where to start, I read matterials but everything wasn't aimed for newbies, so is there any guildlines to do that or maybe someone can help me to make a guide for this task.
So the problem is:
What kind of commands I have to execute to perform this activity --> Take backup from TSM send it to another server and make it available.

It woulde be nice to get any kind of docs

Already Thanks
Tom
  • 1. Re: Resotring backup from TSM to another server
    Richard Harrison . Expert
    HI,
    Basic steps are:

1) install tsm on the 'other' server
    2) create tsm config which matches the 'live' one - this has to be the same to enable the calls to to TSM api to find the files that were backed up from the other server - google tsm.opt/dsm.opt
    3) create pfile/spfile on other server
    4) startup nomount the new db
    5) fire up rman and connect to 'new' db and recovery catalog
    6) create restore command allocating a tape channel based on the tsm.opt file you have from point 2

That's a high level view - you should be able to google to find out examples of each step.......

Cheers,
    Harry
  • 2. Re: Resotring backup from TSM to another server
    safazaurs Newbie
    Thanks, now I have an idea where to start.
  • 3. Re: Resotring backup from TSM to another server
    safazaurs Newbie
    Sorry for troubling you.

So, I have two servers where TSM is installed and configuration is the same on both of them (it must be). But then I have another question, I don't have tsm.opt, is it the same as dsm.opt? And also I have four opt files:
    /usr/tivoli/tsm/client/api/bin/dsm.opt
    /usr/tivoli/tsm/client/api/bin64/dsm.opt