This discussion is archived
11 Replies Latest reply: Feb 28, 2013 9:04 PM by dilipkumar10285 RSS

Trapping errors in stored procedures

MrGibbage Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I have to run queries on a gov't computer. There are errors in some of the stored procedures that will NEVER go away. Fact of life, and I have to live with it (I'm just a data analyst--not the developer of the procedures)
So I do this, in the hope of trapping the error
BEGIN
     run_stored_proc (my_cursor, my_id, param3);
EXCEPTION
     WHEN OTHERS THEN DBMS_OUTPUT.PUT_LINE ('ERROR IN ID (' || my_id || '). The error was ' || SQLCODE || ' -ERROR- ' ||SQLERRM);
END;
Well, it can still crash.
SQL> @c:\mysql\run_test
ERROR IN ID (2692). The error was -20100 -ERROR- ORA-20100: Exception occurred in some_other_stored_procedure
ORA-01422: exact fetch returns more than requested number of rows
So it looks like run_stored_proc calls some_other_stored_procedure which is having issues. I was hoping that by trying to capture the error in the top level procedure, it would also capture the error in a lower-level "sub-procedure". This is the way a TRY-CATCH in java works. If an error happens anywhere along the way inside the TRY-CATCH, it is caught. Sure, PL/SQL ins't java, but is there a way for me to catch a lower level error and not have this code crash?

Fortunately for me, it actually doesn't crash that often. But I have to put this code in a loop, and run it for many different my_id's. And when it does crash, it isn't significant from a data analysis standpoint. I can't do without a small percentage of the data. But I'd love to be able to just run my script and not have to watch it for unexpected crashes.

This is not a question about how to fix the too many rows error in the procedure. I don't have access to the procedure, and it isn't going to be fixed. I just need to know how to deal with catching the error, if it is possible at all.
  • 1. Re: Trapping errors in stored procedures