This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Mar 4, 2013 11:52 PM by gimbal2 RSS

working with numbers

994550 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all, I'm new to Java programming(and programming itself) and was looking for a website such this, to get some help once in a while and find some answers to my questions...

anyway, for a start, I have a question about manipulating the numbers of a long int...like how do I choose to work with the second number from right of a 10 digits number?
I have arrays in mind...manipulating the numbers would have been easy if I choose each number go to one slot of my array ,but I don't like it this way, cuz when I run my program, it asks from the user to to put number 1, press enter, then put number 2, press enter and so on, as I wrote it here:

Scanner x = new Scanner(System.in);

int num[] = new int[10];

for( int counter=1; counter<num.length; counter++){
               num[counter] = x.nextInt();

I wanted the user to put the whole number in, and then I manipulate for example 4th digit of the number from left!

And also, needed to know how I can make it to accept exactly a number that has between 8-12 digits, and if the user puts 13 digits numbers, doesn't accept it...
any help on where to start would be much appreciated :)
  • 1. Re: working with numbers
    994550 Newbie
    my first question can be said like this too: how do I convert a string of numbers into an int array?!
    thanks
  • 2. Re: working with numbers
    Kayaman Guru
    There's no direct method for this, but you can always first convert an int to a String, then go through each character and convert it to int (remember, '8' - '0' = 8).
    You don't necessarily need an int array either, manipulating a char array is almost as easy.
  • 3. Re: working with numbers
    994550 Newbie
    oh ok...changing int to string is with this method right? static int parseInt(String x)