This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Mar 5, 2013 9:04 PM by Royal_A RSS

Different environments in Oracle App.

Royal_A Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi All,

I am new to Oracle App, earlier i use to work in Java development. Recently i have taken 3 months training. I want to ask what all different type of environments we do have in Oracle App and how we move changes between them.

In java development we use to have following environment
1. Dev
2. QC
3. UAT
4. Production, Live environment.

As per my understanding in Oracle also we use to need all above environment however we would refer the same with different terms. if it is then please tell me the equivalent terms of above environment in Oracle.

Regards Royal
  • 1. Re: Different environments in Oracle App.
    HamidHelal Guru
    Royal_A wrote:
    Hi All,

I am new to Oracle App, earlier i use to work in Java development. Recently i have taken 3 months training. I want to ask what all different type of environments we do have in Oracle App and how we move changes between them.

In java development we use to have following environment
    1. Dev
    2. QC
    3. UAT
    4. Production, Live environment.

As per my understanding in Oracle also we use to need all above environment however we would refer the same with different terms. if it is then please tell me the equivalent terms of above environment in Oracle.

Regards Royal
    Application development in Pl/SQL with forms and reports
    there is two things
    1. Development environment
    2. production environment.

Hope this helps
  • 2. Re: Different environments in Oracle App.
    Andreas Weiden Guru
    I don't think that the environmental setup is a thing specifc to java or forms or any other technology.

In some cases your have just dev and prod, in some cases you have dev, test and prod and in some cases you have even more environments. Personally i tend to have at least dev, test and prod.

Hope this helps,
    Andreas