This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Mar 7, 2013 11:25 PM by Christian Erlinger RSS

How to be a Forms & PL/SQL Expert?

995422 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi Experts, I am very new to Oracle Forms and PL/SQL. I have been doing development in Forms (mostly in 10g but I also in 6i) and PL/SQL for little over 2 years.

My problem is, I don't know much about how to progress up the ladder to be an Oracle Forms & PL/SQL expert.

My other big problem is trying to find out how to keep pace with the latest development in Forms and PL/SQL.

For example, my manager asked me how to print a file in a client printer. I could not give him a solution at once. Only after couple of hours of searching did I find the solution using WebUtil.

Another instance a manger asked me how to encrypt data in Oracle forms. Again I had to do an extensive search on the web.

Can an "expert" give a solution at once, without going to the web?

Another time I was asked to do a performance tuning and could not do it since I have not done before. I tried to follow the method found in this site using a personal DB in my machine but could not simulate a situation.

How do you keep track of latest developments?

Are their any sites to go to?

Is there a routine you can follow?

Do you have to do R&D regularly? How often?

How many hours of reading web-sites (on Forms, PL/SQL stuff) should you do for a week?

How do YOU experts do it?

You advice would be greatly appreciated.
  • 1. Re: How to be a Forms & PL/SQL Expert?
    :) Newbie
    it comes with experience not by reading or copying from others
  • 2. Re: How to be a Forms & PL/SQL Expert?
    Atawneh Newbie
    yes but u should have SQL skills and PL-Sqal skills
  • 3. Re: How to be a Forms & PL/SQL Expert?
    HamidHelal Guru
    992419 wrote:
    Hi Experts, I am very new to Oracle Forms and PL/SQL. I have been doing development in Forms (mostly in 10g but I also in 6i) and PL/SQL for little over 2 years.