4 Replies Latest reply: Mar 8, 2013 12:34 PM by David.Warwick RSS

Trouble finding a place for my Event Handler

David.Warwick
      I am a newbie working on my first program. I am trying to teach myself JavaFX by creating a simple tic-tac-toe program. I have created an AnchorPane to hold the tic-tac-toe grid which consists of 4 cris-crossing lines that were created in JavaFX Scene builder. There are 2 horizontal lines and 2 vertical lines. In the Java program I loaded my FXML file and my tic-tac-toe grid shows up just fine. I created 9 ImageView's that correspond to the 9 tic-tac-toe squares. I load those with the x.jpg or o.jpg images. Those work fine and I can display them on my grid manually.

I am having trouble figuring out how to make them show up if I click in one of the squares. I created one rectangle and made it the same color as the grid and with no border and placed it in the middle square. I set an fx:id ="rmm" (rectangle middle-middle) and an onMouseClicked="#handleRMM" in the FXML file.

I created an event handler and I know it is firing because I set System.out.println("Clicked!"); and I can see it displaying on the NetBeans console. But the rest of the event to display the X is not displaying.

I can only get the event handler to work in the public class Main Extends Application part of the program. But, the AnchorPane, my ImageViews, and everything else is defined in the public void start(Stage primaryStage) part of the program. Therefor, I can not access the ImageViews from the Event Handler. I will list my code and hopefully someone can tell me what I am doing wrong. Thanks in advance.

David
      package tictactoe;

import java.util.logging.Level;
      import java.util.logging.Logger;
      import javafx.application.Application;
      import javafx.fxml.FXML;
      import javafx.fxml.FXMLLoader;
      import javafx.scene.*;
      import javafx.scene.image.Image;
      import javafx.scene.image.ImageView;