This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Mar 9, 2013 1:31 AM by Kayaman RSS

Dynamic Structure / Element building

995689 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hallo, I am new to Java and have some problems at building Elements and handling like passing them to some dynamic structure and letting the references be handled without losing the elements in memory.
There are also some questions about general memory usage. I hope it gets visual at this small testclass. Maybe you can pass me throuh to some reference post at topic?

import java.util.*;
import javax.swing.*;

class Testvec{

public static void main(String args[]){

Vector<String> ob = new Vector<String>();

//          String string[] = new String[1000000]; @tested to add this at vector, but cant remove

System.out.println(ob.size());

long mem = Runtime.getRuntime().totalMemory(); //- Runtime.getRuntime().freeMemory();

//@1 What about that here? total and free almost same value

long time = System.nanoTime();

System.out.println("Total Runtime Mem: "+Runtime.getRuntime().totalMemory()/Math.pow(2,20));
          System.out.println("Free Runtime Mem: "+Runtime.getRuntime().freeMemory()/Math.pow(2,20));

JOptionPane.showInputDialog(null,"Runtime stopped");

//@2 time to look at taskmanager, the value differs to total runtime memory @doubled

time = System.nanoTime();
          for (int i = 0; i < 1000000; i++){

//               string[i] = Integer.toString(i);

ob.add(Integer.toString(i));

}
          time = System.nanoTime()-time;
          mem = Runtime.getRuntime().totalMemory(); //- Runtime.getRuntime().freeMemory() - mem;

System.out.println("Total Runtime Mem: " +Runtime.getRuntime().totalMemory()/Math.pow(2,20));
          System.out.println("Free Runtime Mem: " +Runtime.getRuntime().freeMemory()/Math.pow(2,20));

System.out.println("Memory taken @ " mem/Math.pow(2,20) " MBytes" +"\n" +"Time nedded @ " time/Math.pow(10,9) " seconds");