This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Mar 11, 2013 5:36 AM by gimbal2 RSS

Web Service in java HELP!!!!

996036 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi everyone,

i'm new in web services and i have to make a web service in java that it will accept an xml file from a client. The client will have to connect with the server in a particular port and ,through the web service, the client will have to send the xml file. Firts of all, i would like to ask if it 's something difficult to be done. Secondly i would appreciate if someone gave me a guideline about how to start the implementation of the web service.

Thanks in advance. :)
  • 1. Re: Web Service in java HELP!!!!
    gimbal2 Guru
    993033 wrote:
    Hi everyone,

Firts of all, i would like to ask if it 's something difficult to be done.
    Since you know nothing: oh yeah.
    Secondly i would appreciate if someone gave me a guideline about how to start the implementation of the web service.
    Buy a book, read it. Or scour the internet using google and read all you can about java webservices.

You're nowhere near the point where you should be asking questions in a forum. Your first step is: learn the technology. Google is your friend. I will at least kick you in the right direction: popular web services technologies are JAX-WS for SOAP and JAX-RS for RESTful. Nobody can decide for you which one you should use.

Good luck!
  • 2. Re: Web Service in java HELP!!!!
    996036 Newbie
    Thanks for the reply !I have read a lot of things about web service. i m reading about a week now for web services :) But there is a lot of stuff and i cant decide what technology is better for my situation. Give me just a hint about it please !!
  • 3. Re: Web Service in java HELP!!!!
    Kayaman Guru
    993033 wrote:
    Thanks for the reply !I have read a lot of things about web service. i m reading about a week now for web services :)
    Well, you probably won't be able to do it with just a week of reading.