This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Mar 27, 2013 1:56 PM by MSandico RSS

Monitoring memory performance for oracle database on windows

MSandico Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi All,

I'm new to Oracle database admin and am looking at a dedicated Oracle db server running on Windows with 12GB of RAM. I noticed that available mem is 10GB and when checking SGA size in EM, it says max size is 1000MB! We've looked at how to increase the size (we are going to increase to 8000MB) but what i'd like to know is how to monitor memory performance from an Oracle perspective (i am familiar with windows OS counters but am looking for Oracle db-specific counters). I see one about buffer cache hit ratio but is that the only one? In SQL server, there are several SQL-specific counters to look at in terms of SQL memory usage, hoping to get the same for ORacle..

thanks in advance
  • 1. Re: Monitoring memory performance for oracle database on windows
    TSharma-Oracle Guru
    Why do you want to increase it at first place? Don't fix it if ain't broke. Secondly, this is Oracle not sqlserver, both are just different in memory consumption.

Normally we do increase a memory so that we can reduce the physical disk reads by reading more blocks from buffer cache. In Oracle ,adding memory is not the only solution, if you are expeiencing a slow performance , you should find a root cause and fix it. If you have poorly written queries , it will consume all the memory doesn't matter how much memory you have.

You can definetely run AWR reports which has several sections which tells you about the memory consumtion and other ratios.You can check SGA and PGA advisors(Memory advisors) in EM under Server section.

Also 8GB out 12 GB just for SGA? What about PGA(depends upon your sessions) and system reserved memory. You could swapping heavily.

Also Are you on 32-bit or 64-bit Windows?

BUT remember , *"dont fix it if it ain't broke"*