This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Apr 15, 2013 7:26 AM by gimbal2 RSS

Book recommendation?

999817 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I certified in Java 12 years ago, but have unfortunately not had the opportunity to use it much since then. (I’ve been programming with PowerBuilder, PHP, and C++ in the meantime.)

I’m trying to develop a SOAP web service using Netbeans and Glassfish. I was given a complex (26 pages, including comments) WSDL, and had the web service skeleton created for me by Netbeans, but I’m not exactly sure where to go from here. I got a trial subscription to the Safari Books website and have been trying to get caught up on Java, but can’t find anything that goes into the detail on JAX-WS and JAXB that I need (at least I think those things are what I’m using).

I did find this, which seems to be exactly what I’m working with (although it’s using different tools), but I’m wondering if there is a good book that covers it in more detail?
http://technicalmumbojumbo.wordpress.com/2012/04/09/web-services-jaxws-weblogic-oracle-enterprise-pack-for-eclipse-oepe-tutorial/

Thanks!

Edited by: 996814 on Mar 28, 2013 9:59 AM
  • 1. Re: Book recommendation?
    jtahlborn Expert
    no need for a book:

http://metro.java.net/guide/
  • 2. Re: Book recommendation?
    gimbal2 Guru