This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Mar 29, 2013 11:48 PM by EJP RSS

Parallelism with JAVA RMI

1000075 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I am a student. I am working on a project : trying to distribute heavy matrix calculus on many machines to reduce the execution time(Parallelism on many "slave" machines). I thought Java RMI would help me do this.(master/slaves application)
The problem is that i didn't know how to enable a client to create a connexion simultaneously with multiple server (each server on a different physical machine, that means each server has its own ip address)
i tried this, but didn't work.
*InterfaceRMI esclaves[]= new InterfaceRMI[ns]; (interfaceRMI c'est le nom de l'interface)*

for(int i=0;i<ns;i++) (ns is the number of ''slaves'')
*{*
*slaves=(InterfaceRMI) Naming.lookup("rmi://10.0.0."+(i+1)+"/Slaves"+(i+1));* (slaves has ip addresses from 10.0.0.1-->10.0.0.6 for example)
*}*
It seems that a client can contact only one rmiregistry at once.??
how can i resolve this problem? is there any solution to do my project with JAVA RMI?

thanks in advance.
  • 1. Re: Parallelism with JAVA RMI
    EJP Guru
    It's not clear what you're asking here. A thread can only do one thing at a time. If you want to lookup multiple RMI Registries, or call multiple remote methods on multiple remote servers, or even add a to b, all at the same time, you have to use threads. It has nothing to do with RMI at all.
  • 2. Re: Parallelism with JAVA RMI
    1000075 Newbie
    I am trying to create many connections simultaneously with many servers that have different ip addresses.

that's what i am trying to do. contacting different 'rmiregistry' 's at the same time.

it is not about threads.
    is this possible?

Do you mean that each thread should contain its own Naming.lookup ?

Does this mean that the different Naming.lookup requests cannot be done in the main thread, before creating the other different threads?