3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 9, 2013 11:16 AM by 1001377 RSS

Virtual box install ?

I have been trying to download the oracle express R2 on my laptop and found that I cannot do this as I have a vista home premium 32bit os installed. I was advised that I could download the virtualbox and then install oracle dbase on here, I have downloaded and installed the virtual box but it will not install the oracle dbase as it is not a OVF file. Does anyone know where I can get this or how I can change my unpacked dbase installation software onto virtual box software.

I am new to this so a step by step guide would be appreciate.

Thank you

NB: I have reopened this thread here as I was informed it was in the wrong place I am trying to install a virtual machine now to run my oracle on. I understand that I have to install on Virtual box microsoft windows and then I can run oracle on that. I will be back if I have problems with this.

Thank you all for your help so far.
        • 1. Re: Virtual box install ?
          EdStevens
          hollyox1 wrote:
          I have been trying to download the oracle express R2 on my laptop and found that I cannot do this as I have a vista home premium 32bit os installed. I was advised that I could download the virtualbox and then install oracle dbase on here, I have downloaded and installed the virtual box but it will not install the oracle dbase as it is not a OVF file. Does anyone know where I can get this or how I can change my unpacked dbase installation software onto virtual box software.

I am new to this so a step by step guide would be appreciate.

Thank you

NB: I have reopened this thread here as I was informed it was in the wrong place I am trying to install a virtual machine now to run my oracle on. I understand that I have to install on Virtual box microsoft windows and then I can run oracle on that. I will be back if I have problems with this.

Thank you all for your help so far.