This discussion is archived
2 Replies Latest reply: Apr 4, 2013 1:18 PM by 1001127 RSS

Tutorial Trouble - Oracle Developer Data Modeler

1001127 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,

I am very new to Apex and I am completing prerequisite tasks so I can complete the, "Building an Application Using Oracle Application Express: Part 1” and I ran into a problem. While going through the, "Re-engineering Your Database Using Oracle SQL Developer Data Modeler 3.1", tutorial I became stuck on step 6. Instead of my screen reading, "The status is Success. Click Connect" it reads, "Status: Failure - Test failed: IO Error: The Network Adapter could not establish the connection." Up to step 5 I have done everything as instructed in the tutorial, which I have placed a link to below on the bottom.

I am confused about what my next course of action should be. I checked my Network Adapter and it seems to be working fine and it is not giving me any other trouble. I don't think the adapter has any physical problems either. I am new to Apex and not sure what to do. Does anyone out there have an idea of a direction I could take to solve the problem or an idea of why that particular error message came up? Thank you for your time and I would be very appreciative of any help.

(Tutorial I am working on) http://www.oracle.com/webfolder/technetwork/tutorials/obe/db/devdays2012/mod1_dm/mod1_dm.html
  • 1. Re: Tutorial Trouble - Oracle Developer Data Modeler
    fac586 Guru
    >

Please update your forum profile with a real handle instead of "998124".