2 Replies Latest reply: Apr 15, 2013 4:34 AM by gimbal2 RSS

How to?  Java and Websites:  Java vs. Javascript

Hello, I am new to Java. My roommate who is an ex-Java programmer says that Java and Javascript are virtually two different languages. He didn't give much in the way of distinction except to say that Javascript didn't support inheritance. I was wondering if someone could explain the difference to me. Also...a friend of mine wants to start a website store and I was wondering if all that would be needed to implement the site would be a knowledge of HTML and Java. So, I guess what I'm asking is if applets loaded to the server would facilitate the on-line store? Is there anything I am missing?

Thank you for your time.
        • 1. Re: How to?  Java and Websites:  Java vs. Javascript
          Kayaman
          996440 wrote:
          My roommate who is an ex-Java programmer says that Java and Javascript are virtually two different languages.
          No, they're literally two different languages although with a similar syntax (but C and Java share similar syntax as well, so that doesn't really mean much).
          He didn't give much in the way of distinction except to say that Javascript didn't support inheritance.
          There's plenty of other differences. That's apples and oranges.
          Also...a friend of mine wants to start a website store and I was wondering if all that would be needed to implement the site would be a knowledge of HTML and Java.
          A good knowledge of both, then a knowledge of databases and some other things.
          So, I guess what I'm asking is if applets loaded to the server would facilitate the on-line store?
          No. Applets would be in no role here (and they're not very popular in other places anymore either).
          Is there anything I am missing?