This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Apr 26, 2013 7:48 AM by rukbat RSS

run java program

marco Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all,

I'm very new to java, tried to write my first program and it works.

I typed in notepad:

//A Very Simple Example
class ExampleProgram {
public static void main(String[] args) {
System.out.println("I'm a Simple Program");
}
}

saved it as ExampleProgram.java

and then compiled it using

javac ExampleProgram.java

Now I can run it:

java ExampleProgram

and it displays text "I'm a Simple Program".

Now the question is - how do I run my program without typing "java [program name]" ? I mean, I'd like rather to run it using some kind of ExampleProgram.exe but without typing "java" before program name. Is it possible at all?

Edited by: marco on 25/4/2013 6:46
  • 1. Re: run java program
    gimbal2 Guru
    Yes, but that is more advanced material. Keep studying, you will get to that eventually. If you're really curious, do a google for "java executable jar".
  • 2. Re: run java program
    PhHein Guru Moderator
    You could create a batch file that executes the java ExampleProgram call and just double click that. Or you create a runnable jar file.
  • 3. Re: run java program
    marco Newbie
    PhHein, yes, I can create batch file, but I prefer creating a jar file.

So I've changed directiory to

C:\oracle\Middleware\jdk160_24\bin

created manifest file

echo Main-Class: ExampleProgram >manifest.txt

created my jar file

jar cvfm ExampleProgram.jar manifest.txt ExampleProgram.class

tried to test result by running my program

ExampleProgram.jar

(It doesn't return any result in command line).

But when I run "java ExampleProgram" it does display "I'm a Simple Program"

What I'm doing wrong now?
  • 4. Re: run java program
    baftos Expert
    There are two java launchers in Windows: java.exe and javaw.exe.