This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Apr 26, 2013 7:09 AM by user11391721 RSS

OVM 3.2.1 + Sun ZFS - want to create second repository

Soumyajit Haldar Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi All,

I am very new to this VM architecture. Our VM environment's repository exists in the Sun ZFS. I have created a similar LUN in the Sun ZFS Storage. But, I am not sure how to expose this to the VM Manager or the OVS so that I can create virtual disks for my VMs.

I generally expose the LUNs to the normal bare-metal servers as NFS mount point, but here I need to format it with OCFS2 so that it can exposed to all the OVS (Hypervisors).

Regards,
Soumyajit
  • 1. Re: OVM 3.2.1 + Sun ZFS - want to create second repository
    budachst Journeyer
    If you need to make the LUN available to your OVM servers, you should export it via iSCSI using Comstar, I guess. You would then have to login to that LUN from all of your OVM servers, rediscover the servers and than you should be presented with the new local storage device where you can create a new strorage repository on from within OVMM.
  • 2. Re: OVM 3.2.1 + Sun ZFS - want to create second repository
    Soumyajit Haldar Newbie
    The ZFS server is a NAS server and is exposed to the servers as NFS mount point. Here is my confusion. How to proceed?
  • 3. Re: OVM 3.2.1 + Sun ZFS - want to create second repository
    user12273962 Pro
    ZFS can do more than NFS. It does FC and iSCSI. Either way. I do run my repos on NFS on ZFS. Its rather simple to present a NFS share to your VM servers. Go to "storage". Expand the "file server" section. ClicK "+" or "add" and reference the network path to the servers. Add admin servers and you're done. You may have to run a refresh on the storage.
  • 4. Re: OVM 3.2.1 + Sun ZFS - want to create second repository
    user11391721 Newbie
    I am currently only presenting my zfs filesystem over nfs. It should also support iSCSI but I haven't tried that yet.