This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Apr 30, 2013 4:04 PM by EJP RSS

Confused about design when using NIO paradigm

mauric Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Good morning,

I'm currently studying NIO in order of implementing a custom client-server protocol, and I get a bit confused about NIO effective usage.
As far as I undestood from material I've read, NIO is intrinsically a non-blocking and, as a consequence, an asynchronous way to execute request on (and read response from) a remote server. Looking at most of the example I've found on the web, the general idea behind server-side NIO programming may be summarized as follows:

- create a single I/O worker thread, which reads in a non-blocking way as many data as possibile from each requests;
- all read data must be incapsulated in a "message" or "request" - so that there must be a mean to identify a "complete" request;
- all requests are queued and processed by "worker threads" which produce "responses";
- responses are sent back to clients using the I/O worker thread.

I don't know if I understood well this model, anyway I haven't had big troubles in figuring out how it works. Instead, I'm really confused on how I should develop my client, since most examples I've found use an asynchronous approach even on client side. Normally I need to send a request and wait for a response in a blocking way: a common scenario is GUI's usage in which user execute a request and must wait untill server sends back a response. It seems that I cannot mix blocking IO on client and non blocking IO on server.

So, I tried to mix up things using this approach: I wrote a sendRequest method which:
- uses client's opened channel to write the request;
- the actual read on client's channel is performed by an Handler, which runs in a separate thread; both sendRequest and Handler share a Lock object
- sendRequest writes request to the server and suspend on the lock;