This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: May 1, 2013 9:53 AM by Colm Divilly RSS

APEX Listener versus classic Application Server

user8058501 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Currently we use the APEX Listener with the stand-alone configuration to access the URL af an APEX application.
This might not be a suitable situation for a production environment.

In a short, here are the (possible) requirements:

- Sessions must be able to access at the same time the same APEX application and page.
Let's say 500 users should be able to access it with no trouble.
- If there are some pages accessed very frequently, they should be cached (how?) without having to request them all the time from the database.
- If more than 500 users are accessing the application, to avoid latency, there should be a "mechanism" to make them "waiting" until the allowed amount of concurrent sessions is below 500, and without impacting (or with low impact) of other working sessions.

I have little knowledge of middle ware environment, but this seems to me specifications for an application server and or a web server.

Hera are my questions:

1) Is it possible to implement such above mechanism with the APEX Listener?
2) If not possible, what should I consider?

Thanks by advance for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards.
  • 1. Re: APEX Listener versus classic Application Server
    Colm Divilly Journeyer
    user8058501 wrote:
    Currently we use the APEX Listener with the stand-alone configuration to access the URL af an APEX application.
    This might not be a suitable situation for a production environment.
    Standalone mode is not supported for production environments, see here for why:

https://cdivilly.wordpress.com/2013/03/11/oracle-application-express-listener-standalone-mode/
    In a short, here are the (possible) requirements:

- Sessions must be able to access at the same time the same APEX application and page.