This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: May 9, 2013 11:10 AM by Multiverse RSS

Can not download Oracle_Developer_Day.ova

984112 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi there,

I am new to VirtualBox, and trying to create one instance with Oracle DB 11gR2. I followed to this page "_http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/database/enterprise-edition/databaseappdev-vm-161299.html_"; and start to download this "_http://download.oracle.com/otn/other/virtualbox/dd/Oracle_Developer_Day.ova_"

The download always terminated at around *49M* without error message.

Can someone explain or fix the issue? Thanks a lot!!!

David
  • 1. Re: Can not download Oracle_Developer_Day.ova
    Srini Chavali-Oracle Oracle ACE Director
    It's a big download - use a download manager - the issue is most likely with your browser or ISP

trouble downloading oracle devleoper day.ova file

HTH
    Srini
  • 2. Re: Can not download Oracle_Developer_Day.ova
    Multiverse Newbie
    This doesn't work for me either, and it always stops at 48 MB. The full download is 4.04 GB. This is definitely something wrong with Oracle's website. I have tried it from Windows 7 and Windows XP with the same failure.

I also tried using one of Oracle's recommended download managers (Free Download Manager) but that doesn't work at all. Oracle's website requires authentication, but it does not accept my credentials when submitted through the download manager. Even if I login before downloading, the download manager cannot receive any part of the file.
  • 3. Re: Can not download Oracle_Developer_Day.ova
    Multiverse Newbie
    Oracle, I have spent nearly half a day trying to get just one measly VM to import into VirtualBox. First of all, you do not make it clear that some of your appliances work only in "Oracle VM" and not "Oracle VM VirtualBox". (I'm sure you do this on purpose.) Second of all, you don't really offer anything good that actually works with VirtualBox.