This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: May 3, 2013 1:19 AM by VC RSS

Best way to display current date time on each page

scot Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi. I've tried searching the forum for this, but these are very common search terms, and while I've learned a bit from the threads I've found, I haven't found my specific answer. I'm happy to read a thread if pointed in the right direction. I'm using APEX 3, and as will become evident shortly, I'm quite new at it.

My Question: I'm looking for the best/preferred way to display the current date and time on each page in an application. Or at least, each page in an application that uses one specific page template. I'm using theme 16, Dark Blue, and the page template of interest is One Level Tabs with Sidebar.

An added complication is that I'm not wanting to display it in one of the standard region position numeric place holders that the template defines. Instead, there is a little blue box in a cell towards the top left of the page that would be to the left of the breadcrumb, and above the sidebar region. There is actually a label in the td code for this cell; class="t16SideBarTitle"

I put some static text there in that cell as a test and it shows up perfectly where I want it. Now, this date time would need to be refreshed with each page. The question is how best to accomplish it.

My current attempt is to create a hidden Item on Page 0, called P0_DATE, and to put the text "&P0_DATE." right there in the cell I want. The item itself is defined to have a "source value or expression" of:
to_char(sysdate,'Dy, Mon DD HH:MI:SS PM')
The "Source Used" is "Always, replacing any value in session state"
The "Source Type" is PLSQL Expression or function"