This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: May 20, 2013 12:24 PM by 1008295 RSS

Development of a single row functionality with list items

1008295 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,
I am new to Oracle forms. Presently using Oracle forms 6i.
I am facing a problem when controlling the status of items within a row while choosing the 'List item'. I basically have multi-data block. On the data block I have assigned the property as 'List Item' to one of the item. This list item has three options 'MANUAL', 'AUTO' and 'ADVANCE'. When I choose the list item 'MANUAL', corresponding row should be editable and the user can insert the record in that row. But when I choose 'AUTO' or 'ADVANCE' only the specified item say for e.g. the item 'Sr.no' only should be editable while all the other items are uneditable. I have tried using set_record_property for 'MANUAL' and that serves my purpose. But have written set_item_property for 'AUTO' and 'ADVANCE' which then spoils the 'MANUAL' functionality for the next row/record after an 'AUTO' or 'ADVANCE' row is inserted.
Please help asap as this is an urgent requirement.

Edited by: 1005292 on May 10, 2013 12:43 PM
  • 1. Re: Development of a single row functionality with list items
    GregorM Explorer
    Hi.

You should use two triggers :
    1. when-new-record-instance -> in this trigger you should check the value of "List item". If the "List item" is empty you have to set all the item editable. If the "List item" is not empty you have to set items properly as per your needs regarding "List item" value.
    2. when-list-changed -> Change the editable property of items appropriately depending on value selected in "List item"

The point here is you have to set/unset items in every row the user navigates to. That is done by when-new-record-instance trigger.

Hope this helps

Best regards.
  • 2. Re: Development of a single row functionality with list items
    Andreas Weiden Guru