This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 10, 2013 11:46 PM by 509894 RSS

Task on Exadata

sherkhan Explorer
Currently Being Moderated
Dear Expert,

I am new to exadata and I have get one opportunity to work on it

Tasks need to performs are

1) Post Installation check list ie: How can I see every things are installed correctly.

2) upgrade the exadata OS version .

3) Upgrade the Database.

4) Test Migration from Oracle database to Exadata.

5) Right now there RAC servers are installed without domain, I need to add domain name to existing RAC.

Thanks in advance , is there any helpful documents to follow and perform easily.

Thanks,
Sher khan
  • 1. Re: Task on Exadata
    marksmithusa Journeyer
    Oracle will install Exadata at your site for you. They will ask you for extensive documentation (re: networking) and use that to build a configuration template that they will give to you once they've finished. The installation includes passing (if I remember correctly) about 28 different checks.

To upgrade the Exadata Storage Server software, Grid Infrastructure and Database, you should be able to find the relevant documentation in MOS (depending on your version).

Testing whether the migration is successful would be something that you would have to figure out locally. Going back to (very basics), you could always check the registry for errors, check for invalid objects, check for total object count and do checks of the data in your application tables.
  • 2. Re: Task on Exadata
    AlexVAV Newbie
    Hi,

As a start point you can read about "exachk" utility as for you first question.
    For OS and DB update it's very useful to follow 888828.1 on metalink.
  • 3. Re: Task on Exadata
    sherkhan Explorer
    Thanks all for support.

As I have mentioned in first point, post installation check list.

I want to explain: