4 Replies Latest reply: May 16, 2013 8:55 AM by Scott_Symonds RSS

Installing WebLogic on Windows 7 64-bit

robmcangus
      I am new to weblogic and am trying to install it on my local machine but am having major issues. I found a document that stated I should have a "jar" folder in my MW_HOME but there is no such folder. I found a note where it says to perform the command:

java -jar wljarbuilder.jar

but I do not have the wljarbuilder.jar file - instead I have wljarbuilder.jar.pack.

Can anyone provide assistance? Or is there a weblogic for dummies that I can get?

Thanks in advance,
      Rob
        • 1. Re: Installing WebLogic on Windows 7 64-bit
          Scott_Symonds
          Hi Rob,

What version of Oracle WebLogic Server (WLS) are you installing?

As I'm not sure what version you are using, I'll use WLS 10.3.6 as an example. Depending on the WebLogic Server download you downloaded, the file name that was downloaded should be "wls1036_generic.jar" (12c would be wls1211_generic.jar, etc.). Of course, if you are installing a different version of WLS such as 12c, the numbers will be different (everything else is the same). To start the installer, you can run the following command in Command Prompt (as an administrator): java -D64 -jar wls1036_generic.jar

IMPORTANT: You will need to have a JDK installed and deployed in your PATH environment variable; otherwise, the above command will not work. If you do not have a Java JDK installed (or downloaded), you can download the most recent JDK at http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html. Make sure you download the version of the JDK that is certified with your version of WebLogic Server:
          WLS 11g (10.3.x): http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/middleware/downloads/fmw-11gr1certmatrix.xls
          WLS 12c (12.1.1.x): http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/middleware/ias/downloads/wls-1211x-certmatrix-1395408.xls