This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply: May 23, 2013 11:36 PM by Sahar Hassan RSS

Display Newsfeed from UCM to Webcenter portal

Sahar Hassan Explorer
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I am new to UCM and Webcenter portal technologies. I have a requirement for displaying newsfeed content which will be stored in UCM and to be displayed in a webcenter portal.
Please guide me on how can I achieve this. What all technologies I should use.

Sahar
  • 1. Re: Display Newsfeed from UCM to Webcenter portal
    jiri.machotka Guru
    Hi Sahar,

there are at least two options:

1) metadata queries (UCM) and Content Presenter (WCP)
    2) RSS Feeds component (UCM) and RSS Task Flow (WCP)

ad 1) Take a look at this tutorial: http://www.yonaweb.be/webcenter_tutorial/using_content_presenter_templates

In a nutshell, your "news" can be any content stored in UCM, defined by its metadata. To display it, you may create a template according to your needs.

ad 2) This way might not be working any longer.

The idea is to use obtain news as RSS feeds and display them. As for the WCP part, there will be no problem - for details, see http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E23943_01/webcenter.1111/e10149/rss.htm#WCSUG1384
    I am not, however, certain for the UCM part. There used to be a component that enabled sharing content as RSS feeds. The component is available at http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/middleware/webcenter/content/rssfeeds-129386.zip
    Unfortunately, in 11g it seems to have been discontinued (I could find no reference to it in the 11g docs), though, it might be still working - see the discussion in How to enable RSS feeds in UCM

If you want to go this way, you will have to test it/fix it yourself.

Jiri
  • 2. Re: Display Newsfeed from UCM to Webcenter portal
    Sahar Hassan Explorer
    Hi Jiri,

I have followed the tutorial http://www.yonaweb.be/webcenter_tutorial/using_content_presenter_templates