This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: May 27, 2013 11:08 PM by r035198x RSS

web services and message ordering

1008389 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
i am a newbie to Rest services and camel. please help me. message(xml)will be sent from services at endpoint 1 to services exposed @ endpoint 2. i am not going to use queue or anything in between. but i want message ordering for few instances. so how is it possible. is there any option available. thanks
  • 1. Re: web services and message ordering
    1008389 Newbie
    Anybody out there to help with my simple question?
  • 2. Re: web services and message ordering
    EJP Guru
    If you send them all over the same connection, TCP guarantees the order. If you wait for response 1 before sending request 2, you are guaranteeing the order yourself. In short I don't understand the question. Maybe that's why nobody answered.
  • 3. Re: web services and message ordering
    1008389 Newbie
    thanks for the response.

I dont wait for response 1 before sending request 2 and thats why am asking qn on how to preserve order. communication is not synchronous. i send multiple messages to different threads and i will not know the order across the whole message stream as each thread will process messages concurrently.

For example i will be sending message 1 and message 2 which should go in order. For some reason if message 2 goes before message 1 my whole requirement will fail. if i use queue in between i can preserve the order but am not going to use queue. so is there anything i can do to ensure that message 1 goes before message 2?
  • 4. Re: web services and message ordering
    EJP Guru
    So:

Why are you using asynchronous messaging if order is important?
    Why aren't you waiting for a response if order is important?
    Why aren't you using a queue if order is important?

You seem to have designed yourself into a hole.
  • 5. Re: web services and message ordering
    1008389 Newbie