This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: May 31, 2013 12:05 PM by WhiteCollarDBA RSS

OCR and voting disk location

Raluce Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all,

I'm testing to install an Oracle RAC database (11g) on linux RHE 5 with a shared storage DELL Equallogic SCSI SAN.
I will setup a 2 nodes and i will use ASM for the database storage. I'm new in RAC database and i'm checking some docs and find that for the installation should have 3 volumes.
1- volumes for OCR and voting disk
2- volume for Database file (ASM)
3- volume for flash Recovery area and archive log file (ASM)

My question is which file system i will use for OCR and voting disk volume as i know for Datafiles and flash recovery area i will use ASM, but for voting disk i cannot use ASM because the system will access first OCR before starting ASm instance.

If i will use other file system how can i do ?

Thank you.
  • 1. Re: OCR and voting disk location
    rarain Explorer
    Hi,

From 11g release 2 you can use ASM diskgroup for OCR and VOTING disk and prior to 11g release 2 we use RAW devices for them.
    Refer the Oracle documentation for how Oracle clusterware read ASM spfile and start ASM instance before reading OCR information.

Thanks
  • 2. Re: OCR and voting disk location
    Raluce Newbie
    Thank you Rarain,

I will use then ASM for my voting disk and all other storage.
    Is the only way to create ASM disk is using ORACLE ASM Library or is there another way and what is the easiest.

Thank you.
  • 3. Re: OCR and voting disk location
    santysharma Explorer
    Hi,

On Linux easiest way indeed is using asmlib as it takes care of permissions, mapping issues etc. There are other mothods like udev rules which can be used instead of asmlib.

Regards,
    Sharma
  • 4. Re: OCR and voting disk location
    rarain Explorer
    Hi,