This discussion is archived
9 Replies Latest reply: Jun 4, 2013 1:44 AM by gimbal2 RSS

Advice from professionals to anm amatuer

870083 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi everyone I hope you are all had a good Christmas and new years eve.

So my profession is civil engineering (Highways, infrastructure, structures etc.) and not software engineering but I have spent years learning java in my own time and passed the SCJP back in 2010 (I found it a great tool to guide me on what to learn and make myself learn things I might not have otherwise). I find java a very useful tool for work and studies (including my final year independant study for my degree).

Even though I'm a self taught amatuer I am well aware there is a difference between knowing the fundamentals of Java and knowing how to put together a solid piece of software and although I have got by ok so far I would like to take my skills to the next level.

I did have in my mind to do the Java SE 6 Developer after I passed SCJP 6 but of course Oracle bought out Sun and brought in mandatory Oracle training as part of the requirements. Although I would be happy to do the training realistically I can't afford or justify the training off my own back but I did like the sound of the [Developing Applications With the Java SE 6 Platform|http://education.oracle.com/pls/web_prod-plq-dad/db_pages.getpage?page_id=609&p_org_id=28&lang=US&get_params=dc:D61860GC10,p_preview:N] training because not only does it look like it covers the stuff for the Developer certification (incase I decided to do it), but it would cover the right stuff to better my skills.