This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Jun 5, 2013 2:54 AM by 887852 RSS

Oracle VM 3.2.2 on HP Gen 8

1008268 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Good evening All,

I am trying to install OVM 3.2.2 on an HP Gen 8 DL 380, and failing as the install does not see any drives to install on. Obviously it doesn't like my RAID controlled. I have since read that the GEN 8 is not officially supported by oracle (which is odd since the Gen8 has been around for quite a while).

I would like to know whether these is a workaround that I can use to get the install to work? Can I install a newer version of the Enterprise linux and the compile the OVM source on the setup? Any advice would greatly be appreciated as I am planning to move all my VM's from ESXi to Oracle.

Regards,

Rudolf
  • 1. Re: Oracle VM 3.2.2 on HP Gen 8
    1008268 Newbie
    Hi All,

A point in the right direction would greatly be appreciated. :) I am new to commercial linux platforms, having always been using Centos and Debian. Is there any way to get the OVM Server running on a different linux platform that does support the HP Gen 8?

Kind Regards,

Rudolf
  • 2. Re: Oracle VM 3.2.2 on HP Gen 8
    user11391721 Newbie
    1005265 wrote:
    Good evening All,

I am trying to install OVM 3.2.2 on an HP Gen 8 DL 380, and failing as the install does not see any drives to install on. Obviously it doesn't like my RAID controlled. I have since read that the GEN 8 is not officially supported by oracle (which is odd since the Gen8 has been around for quite a while).

I would like to know whether these is a workaround that I can use to get the install to work? Can I install a newer version of the Enterprise linux and the compile the OVM source on the setup? Any advice would greatly be appreciated as I am planning to move all my VM's from ESXi to Oracle.

Regards,

Rudolf