This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply: Jun 7, 2013 6:16 PM by EJP RSS

JNI with Visual C++

ananddrox Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I am a newbie. I have a code using Visual C++ with integrated libraries. Can I interface it with Java ?

Regards,

D. Anand Kumar
  • 1. Re: JNI with Visual C++
    1010920 Newbie
    What do you mean about "interface it with Java"?

I tried
    1, invoking native library from java
    2, invoking java library from native code

both work. What you need is just went through the JNI tutorial.

[http://docs.oracle.com/javase/1.5.0/docs/guide/jni/spec/jniTOC.html|http://docs.oracle.com/javase/1.5.0/docs/guide/jni/spec/jniTOC.html]

[http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/java/tutorials/j-jni/|http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/java/tutorials/j-jni/]

[https://www3.ntu.edu.sg/home/ehchua/programming/java/JavaNativeInterface.html|https://www3.ntu.edu.sg/home/ehchua/programming/java/JavaNativeInterface.html]
  • 2. Re: JNI with Visual C++
    ananddrox Newbie
    Hi,

I can explain more on the question. I would like to write a program in Java which calls a native method that's described in a C++ program.

Sample.java

public class Sample
    {
         static
         {
              System.loadLibrary("Sample");
         }
         // A native method that receives nothing and returns void
         private native void test();
         public static void main(String[] args)
         {
              new Sample().test(); // invoke the native method
         }
    }

Sample.cpp

#include "stdafx.h"
    #include <iostream>
    using namespace std;

void test() // native function
    {
    // function definition
    }

I compiled and builded the Sample.cpp in a Visual C++ environment into a .dll. Now I tried to execute the java program with this dll and it said it could not find dependent libraries. I tried the following too.

#include <jni.h>
    #include "stdafx.h"
    #include <iostream>
    using namespace std;