6 Replies Latest reply: Jun 19, 2013 12:26 PM by jgarry RSS

Backup between two dates

Hulk

Hi,

I am new to oracle dba.

Last week on sunday(16th june) backup was not taken to my oracle 8.1.7.2.1 database , today 19th june it was identified.

Now, I want to take backup to my database from 10th june to 15th june.

Please let me know whether it is possible to take full backup of all files (datafiles,redologs,control file) between 10th and 15th june.

If yes, please provide me the syntax or example.

My database is in ARCHIVE mode.

• 1. Re: Backup between two dates
          sb92075

Hulk wrote:

Hi,

I am new to oracle dba.

Last week on sunday(16th june) backup was not taken to my oracle 8.1.7.2.1 database , today 19th june it was identified.

Please let me know whether it is possible to take full backup of all files (datafiles,redologs,control file) between 10th and 15th june.

woefully ANCIENT database.

You should take a FULL online backup now  or ASAP

• 2. Re: Backup between two dates
            Hulk

If I  do FULL online backup , it will perform backup till today right? please correct me if I am wrong.

• 3. Re: Backup between two dates
              sybrand_b

It is not possible. Also it doesn't make sense as you can go to that date by using a prior backup and recover the database to any point in time (called incomplete recovery) using your archivelogs.

I can only hope this database is not important for you. Oracle 8.1 has been desupported many many many years ago and you are not even on the terminal release, 8.1.7.4.

-----------------

Sybrand Bakker

Senior Oracle DBA

• 4. Re: Backup between two dates
                TSharma-Oracle

You cannot take the full backup just between 2 dates. You just need to take the full backup of your database. And If you have all the archives saved after 10th June, you can recover your database upto any point in time using 10th June's backup.

Documentation and syntaxes for your backup: