12 Replies Latest reply: Jun 21, 2013 10:19 AM by 0110ee23-757d-464e-a2bd-4f474710d866 RSS

regexp_replace function

0110ee23-757d-464e-a2bd-4f474710d866

Hi,

First of all, thanks for viewing and I appreciate your great help.

I am new to 11g and trying explore whether this is doable or not using regexp_replace function.

Here is my requirement.

I have a column, which has 300 character fixed-width text, so i know 1 to 9 characters are SSN, 11 to 20 characters are Date of Birth, 21 to 45 are belongs to an ID (The ID contains upto 25 characters, Some time it will contain only 10 characters, some times 20. It depends, So if it contains only 10, the remaining 15 will be spaces ) etc..

To retrieve ID, I use TRIM(SUBSTR(col, 21, 25)) ID from Table

The requirement is, we run some validations against the SSN in other databases and update the ID in this table if necessary.

In the older versions, I

can achieve the result in the following way.

UPDATE table set col = substr(col, 1, 20) || AddSpacesIfLessthan25Characters(newID) || substr(col, 46) where SSN=123456789

In 11g, how can i achieve the above result, Is there any simpler way? Does regexp_replace function work for me?

Thanks

• 1. Re: regexp_replace function
          Frank Kulash

Hi,

Let me make sure I understand the question: You want to know if there's a regular expression that can replace:

substr(col, 1, 20) || AddSpacesIfLessthan25Characters(newID) || substr(col, 46)

That depends on what AddSpacesIfLessthan25Characters does.

If it does what it says (that is, adds just enough spaces to the argument to make it 25 characters), then you could use the built-in function RPAD (or LPAD).  It will be faster than regular expressions, and much faster than calling a user-defined function.

At any rate, this doesn't really sound like a job for regular expressions.

I hope this answers your question.

If not, post some sample data (CREATE TABLE and INSERT statements) and the results you want from that sample data.