This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 17, 2013 1:48 PM by sseliquini RSS

Passing an Item Value to another page via button set to redirect to page

sseliquini Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hello,

I am new to APEX and I am developing an application to manage Oracle database user accounts.  I have a page (8) that has text items for the username and the database name.  I have a submit button (this works fine) that will issue the ALTER USER... statement to reset the user's password and unlock the account.  I have another button that should:

1. get the value of the username - P8_USERNAME
  2. assign it to an application item - FIND_USER_IN_DB
  3. redirect to page in application - to page 11

The issue is that FIND_USER_IN_DB does not get populated and page 11 which is a simple report with the following query:

SELECT *

FROM valid_db

WHERE username = :FIND_USER_IN_DB;

How do I accomplish this?

Thanks for your help.

Steve

• 1. Re: Passing an Item Value to another page via button set to redirect to page
    Howard (... in Training) Pro

Steve,

I assume FIND_USER_IN_DB is an item on page 8.  If FIND_USER_IN_DB has been found on page 8 but not submitted, it may be that the query on page 11 will find it has no value saved in the Session yet.   If you look in Session State -- using "Session" button at the bottom of the developer screen, does FIND_USER_IN_DB have a value "in Session State" when you get to page 11?

How can this be solved.

1) Does it make sense -- in terms of your application -- to do a Submit on page 8 before you branch.  If so, that may work because FIND_USER_IN_DB will then be defined for the query.  .

2) I assume you are referencing back to a page 8 item because you don't want to duplicate this item on page 11.  Otherwise you might be able to pass this value to a page 11 item in a Branch to URL or Page branch.  (But it still might require submitting it first.  I'd have to check further.)

Hope this helps,

Howard