This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 24, 2013 3:35 AM by KevinFitz RSS

Referencng a Page item value from another Page

KevinFitz Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Apex and I have been using the Apex 4.2 Application guide to try and understand session state among other things. Could someone clarify if the following text taken from the official user guide is accurate:

'When a user submits a page, the Application Express engine automatically stores values typed into fields (items) in session state. For example, suppose you have an application containing two pages. The first page of the application contains a form in which a user can enter a phone number. You defined this form by creating an item named P2_PhoneNo. On the second page, you want to display the information the user enters in the form.

When the page is submitted, Oracle Application Express captures the value entered in the phone number field and stores the value for future use. The phone number entered by the user can then be retrieved from session state by referencing the item associated with the field on the page.'

What this indicates to me is that I should be able to reference/use a item value entered into a field ( P1_SUPPLIER_NR on Page 1 ) on another page's Report Region SQL i.e Page 2,  as follows: 'SELECT ... WHERE supplier_nr = :P1_SUPPLIER_NR'. What I have found though, is that the value of P1_SUPPLIER_NR is always NULL on navigating to Page 2. I know how to pass a value from Page 1 to use within Page 2 but the text seems to indicate that I don't have to explicitly pass the value between the 2 Pages.

I'm using Apex 4.2 with the EPG and I'm referring to Page items here rather than Application items. Any comment or links to relevant blogs etc will all be gratefully received,

regards,

Kevin.

• 1. Re: Referencng a Page item value from another Page
    Joe Upshaw Journeyer