1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply: Jul 27, 2013 11:55 AM by yxes2013 RSS

expdp for non dba

yxes2013

HI all,

Aix 6.1

I am a dba and I am used to export tables using "oracle"  ID in aix which has by default dba privilege. The dump will go to by default to the DATA_PUMP_DIR.

My question is how can I grant access to a non-dba user who has "user01" Aix id to this DATA_PUMP_DIR, So that she can import it to her oracle schema "user01".

Do I need to member her in dba group on unix? But this can be a security breach since she is a developer only and he can become dba?

Thanks a lot,

zxy

• 1. Re: expdp for non dba
          DK2010

Hi,

It Required Grant read,write on Directory to user and also   DATAPUMP_IMP_FULL_DATABASE and DATAPUMP_EXP_FULL_DATABASE

Read Doc:Data Pump Export

HTH

• 2. Re: expdp for non dba
            sybrand_b

Your question clearly indicates again you didn't read documentation.

If you would have done so, you would have known users without the EXP_FULL_DB_ROLE can only export their own data.

I think many people would prefer you, in accordance with the Etiquette of this Forum, would consult documentation first.

Sybrand Bakker

Senior Oracle DBA

• 3. Re: expdp for non dba
              yxes2013

Thanks Dk,

I can not understand this process, Can the user who is not member in the OS group can write to the datapump dir at OS side?

Today she login to aix id "user01" and tried to copy the expat.dmp to the datapump dir but got permission denied. How can the database user grant the OS id to the file level folder for read/write?

The grant you mentioned is on the database side only. I am confusedddddddddddd.

• 4. Re: expdp for non dba
                DK2010

Hi,

What do  want any user come and check/copy the file generated by oracle.

You have to use the OS level privilege for that, from DB level you can not give that permission

• 5. Re: expdp for non dba
                  yxes2013

Sybrand  Sir,