This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Aug 7, 2013 6:40 AM by ChaosAD77 RSS

ASM on Single Instance Server....Worth It?

ChaosAD77 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

I'm new to ASM and was thinking about using it for some of our new database builds. We don't have a RAC environment and all the DBs will be single instance DBs.

What are the benefits of using ASM on a single instance environment?

Being a new newcomer is it even worth it to dive into that as opposed to the standard file system?

Environment:

RHEL 6.4

SAN Storage

Oracle 11.2.0.3 Databases

• 1. Re: ASM on Single Instance Server....Worth It?
    Dude! Guru

Short answer is yes. ASM is Oracle recommended standard. For more details, check some older posts, e.g.:

asm vs raid 1+0

ASM and RAID

ASM & single instance

• 2. Re: ASM on Single Instance Server....Worth It?
    ChaosAD77 Newbie

Thanks for the info, that def helps.

• 3. Re: ASM on Single Instance Server....Worth It?
    BillyVerreynne Oracle ACE

ChaosAD77 wrote:

I'm new to ASM and was thinking about using it for some of our new database builds. We don't have a RAC environment and all the DBs will be single instance DBs.

The type of storage is a primary consideration. ASM makes little sense if your only fixed option is cooked file systems for database storage.

What are the benefits of using ASM on a single instance environment?

Being a new newcomer is it even worth it to dive into that as opposed to the standard file system?

I would instead ask which provides more robust management, use and performance for database storage - cooked file systems or raw disks?