12 Replies Latest reply: Aug 30, 2013 6:57 AM by rukbat RSS

Solaris 8 on netra T1 error - drive not ready

97cae292-7781-4bb2-bbf2-0a398489fbec

Hi I am hoping someone can help shed light on a problem we have encountered. I inherited a couple of very old netra t1 with solaris 8 on them.  We had a major power outage whcih resulted in an issue with this server coming backup.  On first looking at it i was able to get into the server via lom command prompt, i ran the power down command to gracefully shutdown and reboot but on starting backup the server is reporting 'drive not ready' and just hangs at this point.

apologies but i am a solaris novice, any help would be much appreciated. I am hoping this is something trivial....

thanks.

• 1. Re: Solaris 8 on netra T1 error - drive not ready
          rukbat

Moderator Action:

This thread has been moved from the Solaris on x86 forum space,

to the Sun Servers forum space, for closer topic alignment.

There were absolutely no Netra T1 with x86 architecture hardware back in the previous millennium that could run Solaris 8.   They were all SPARC beasts.

Thus that was the wrong forum space for such a post.

If you could provide the actual FULL model name or perhaps a better physical description of the computer system(s) such as size, shape,  type of drives, etc, then someone may be able to point you toward documentation.

Until there is more information from you, the old possible response is ...

... boot from your Solaris 8 or Solaris 9 installation CD, mount the boot drive and FSCK it until it passes all tests.

• 2. Re: Solaris 8 on netra T1 error - drive not ready

Apologies for the incorrect logging of my query. You are absolutely right it is sparc and a beast

The full model name is Netra T1 AC200 with raid 0+1 over 2 scsi disks

I have tried booting from solaris 8, 9, and 10 installation cd's but it fails with the following:-

This is the output using solaris 8

krtld: load_exec: fail to expand cpu/$CPU