This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Aug 4, 2013 3:03 PM by 956320 RSS

Dynamic Insert procedure

956320 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated

Hi Everyone,

I am new so may be I could not explain well but here is my issue

I have a product_master table having product_code as a primary key  and few product_detail tables like   product_detail1,product_detail2, and so on having product_code as a foreign key.
What I want is write a procedure that will open a new  product with old information , it   accepts two parameters (old_product_code,  new_product code) means it open a new product with new product code but with all records information of old_product_code
but it should be dynamically i dont want to specify tables and columns

What I thinking was that I can choose all tables names   by
@   select Tname from tab where tname like 'Product%' :

and create some dynamic sql insert like

@ execute immediate 'insert into   '  || table_name_dynamically || ' select * from ' ||  table_name_dynamically || '  where product_code= old_product_code' ;

but it will insert the  old product code i want it with new code

I am using oracle database 11g version

Thanks

• 1. Re: Dynamic Insert procedure
    rp0428 Guru

956320 wrote:

Hi Everyone,

I am new so may be I could not explain well but here is my issue

I have a product_master table having product_code as a primary key  and few product_detail tables like   product_detail1,product_detail2, and so on having product_code as a foreign key.
    What I want is write a procedure that will open a new  product with old information , it   accepts two parameters (old_product_code,  new_product code) means it open a new product with new product code but with all records information of old_product_code
    but it should be dynamically i dont want to specify tables and columns

What I thinking was that I can choose all tables names   by
    @   select Tname from tab where tname like 'Product%' :